11.6. Configuration Profiles

Configuration Profiles can be used to configure and use more than one set of preferences and configurations. Select the EditConfiguration Profiles…​ menu item or press Shift+Ctrl+A or Shift++A (macOS) and Wireshark will pop up the Configuration Profiles dialog box as shown in Figure 11.7, “The configuration profiles dialog box”. It is also possible to click in the “Profile” part of the statusbar to popup a menu with available Configuration Profiles (Figure 3.22, “The Statusbar with a configuration profile menu”).

Configuration files stored in each profile include:

All other configurations are stored in the personal configuration folder and are common to all profiles.

Figure 11.7. The configuration profiles dialog box

ws gui config profiles

Search for profile …​
The list of profiles can be filtered by entering part of the profile’s name into the search box.
Type selection

Profiles can be filtered between displaying "All profiles", "Personal profiles" and "Global profiles"

  • Personal profiles - these are profiles stored in the user’s configuration dirctory
  • Global profiles - these are profiles provided with Wireshark
New (+)
Create a new profile. The name of the created profile is “New profile” and is highlighted so that you can more easily change it.
Delete (-)
Deletes the selected profile. This includes all configuration files used in this profile. Multiple profiles can be selected and deleted at the same time. It is not possible to delete the “Default” profile or global profiles. Deletion of the "Default" profile will reset this profile.
Copy
Copies the selected profile. This copies the configuration of the profile currently selected in the list. The name of the created profile is the same as the copied profile, with the text “(copy)” and is highlighted so that you can more easily change it.
Import
Profiles can be imported from zip-archives as well as directly from directory structures. Profiles, which already exist by name will be skipped, as well as profiles named "Default".
Export
Profiles can be exported to a zip-archive. Global profiles, as well as the default profile will be skipped during export. Profiles can be selected in the list individually and only the selected profiles will be exported
OK
This button saves all changes, applies the selected profile and closes the dialog.
Cancel
Close this dialog. This will discard unsaved settings, new profiles will not be added and deleted profiles will not be deleted.
Help
Show this help page.